Album Details

April 16, 2007
Universal Distribution
Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Adult Contemporary, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Boogie Rock, Roots Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

With his laconic vocal style and a guitar style that matched it in depth, tone, and weariness all laid over easy, loping shuffle rhythms, J.J. Cale also happened to be a heck of a songwriter, and he established less a persona with his approach than his own brand of blues roots rock, and he has stuck to it throughout his career, never adjusting or deviating for the pop market. All of this means his recorded output is remarkably consistent, as this two-disc set of Cale's hit songs and other key tracks clearly shows. The big ones are here, including "Crazy Mama," "Call Me the Breeze," "Magnolia," "After Midnight," and "Cocaine," along with several essential album sides, and they portray an artist who knows exactly what he does well and then does it, no matter what storms are swirling around in the tides of current pop culture.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Call Me the Breeze
  2. Magnolia
  3. After Midnight
  4. River Runs Deep
  5. Woman I Love
  6. Crazy Mama
  7. Lies
  8. If You're Ever in Oklahoma
  9. Ridin Home
  10. Going Down
  11. Cajun Moon
  12. Anyway the Wind Blows
  13. I Got the Same Old Blues
  14. Rock and Roll Records
  15. Let Me Do It to You
  16. Super Blue
  17. Cocaine
  18. Ride Me High
  19. Hey Baby
  20. Thirteen Days
  21. Don't Cry Sister
  22. Mona
  23. I'll Make Love to You Anytime
  24. Sensitive Kind
  25. Boilin' Pot
  26. Carry On
  27. Wish I Had Not Said That
  28. Love Has Been Gone
  29. Don't Wait
  30. Devil in Disguise
  31. City Girls
  32. A Thing Going On
  33. Money Talks
  34. Hard Times
  35. Teardrops in My Tequila
  36. Trouble in the City