Album Details

Blues, Acoustic Blues, Country Blues

Album Review

Recorded in New York during February and July of 1966, the 17 songs on this collection represent Mississippi John Hurt's final studio efforts. It is astonishing that this man, in the final months of his life, could do 17 songs that were the equal of anything he had done at his first sessions 45 years earlier, his playing (supported on some tracks with producer Patrick Sky on second guitar) as alluringly complex as ever and his voice still in top form. Hurt is brilliant throughout, his voice overpowering in its mixture of warmth, gentleness, and power, and in addition to the expected crop of standards and originals, he covers songs by Bukka White ("Poor Boy, Long Ways from Home") and Leadbelly ("Goodnight Irene") -- all of it is worthwhile, with some tracks, such as "Let the Mermaids Flirt with Me," especially haunting.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Poor Boy, Long Ways from Home
  2. Boys, You're Welcome
  3. Joe Turner Blues
  4. First Shot Missed Him
  5. Farther Along
  6. Funky Butt
  7. Spider, Spider
  8. Waiting for You
  9. Shortnin' Bread
  10. Trouble I Had All My Days
  11. Let the Mermaids Flirt with Me
  12. Good Morning, Carrie
  13. Nobody Cares for Me
  14. All Night Long
  15. Hey, Honey, Right Away
  16. You've Got to Die
  17. Goodnight Irene
purchase full album