Album Details

June 18, 1990
Country, Contemporary Country

Album Review

The Pirates made their name with their third single, "Feed Jake," which had a video that became country music's version of Old Yeller. The rest of the debut is a cross between Alabama country and Southern rock. (The album starts with a speeded-up version of "Honky Tonk Blues," if that's a hint at what's to come.) There are a few twists, though, namely a Guy Clark song ("I Take My Comfort in You") and a surf-country instrumental.
Brian Mansfield, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Honky Tonk Blues
  2. I Take My Comfort in You
  3. Rollin' Home
  4. Speak of the Devil
  5. Feed Jake
  6. Talkin' 'Bout Love
  7. Jolly Roger/Pirates of the Mississippi
  8. Down and Out in Birmingham
  9. Anything Goes
  10. Redneck Rock & Roll
purchase full album