Album Details

October 22, 1991
Zoo Entertainment
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Power Pop

Album Review

Matthew Sweet's third album is a remarkable artistic breakthrough. Grounded in the guitar pop of the Beatles, Big Star, Byrds, R.E.M., and Neil Young, Girlfriend melds all of Sweet's influences into one majestic, wrenching sound that encompasses both the gentle country-rock of "Winona" and the winding guitars of the title track and "Divine Intervention." Sweet's music might have recognizable roots, but Girlfriend never sounds derivative; thanks to his exceptional songwriting, the album is a fresh, original interpretation of a classic sound.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Divine Intervention
  2. I've Been Waiting
  3. Girlfriend
  4. Looking at the Sun
  5. Winona
  6. Evangeline
  7. Day for Night
  8. Thought I Knew You
  9. You Don't Love Me
  10. I Wanted to Tell You
  11. Don't Go
  12. Your Sweet Voice
  13. Does She Talk?
  14. Holy War
  15. Nothing Lasts
purchase full album