Album Details

Pop/Rock, Country-Rock, Rock & Roll, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Pub Rock, Singer/Songwriter

Album Review

The 20-track compilation Surrender to the Rhythm is an excellent retrospective of Brinsley Schwarz's career. The compilation is culled from each of the group's albums, touching lightly on their earlier records and drawing heavily from Silver Pistol, Nervous on the Road, and The New Favourites, which is appropriate, since they were the stronger records. Although Nervous on the Road remains a necessary album, Surrender to the Rhythm compiles nearly every one of the Brinsleys' greatest tracks, including "Country Girl," "Ju Ju Man," "Down in Mexico," "Play That Fast Thing (One More Time)," "Happy Doing What We're Doing," "Don't Lose Your Grip on Love," "The Ugly Things," a ripping live version of "Home in My Hand," and the original version of Nick Lowe's classic "(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding." Surrender to the Rhythm offers convincing evidence that Brinsley Schwarz is one of the great underrated bands of the early '70s, while essentially summing up the spirit of pub rock.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Country Girl
  2. Surrender to the Rhythm
  3. Happy Doing What We're Doing
  4. The Ugly Things
  5. Don't Lose Your Grip on Love
  6. Last Time I Was Fooled
  7. Silver Pistol
  8. Nightingale
  9. Trying to Live My Life Without You
  10. Ever Since You're Gone
  11. Nervous on the Road (But Can't Stay at Home)
  12. I Like It Like That
  13. Down in Mexico
  14. I Worry ('Bout You Baby)
  15. Play That Fast Thing (One More Time)
  16. The Look That's in Your Eye Tonight
  17. Ju Ju Man
  18. Down in the Dive
  19. Home in My Hand [Live]
  20. (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding?
purchase full album