Album Details

May 17, 2011
Shout! Factory
Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Proto-Punk, Album Rock, Detroit Rock

Album Review

There are few if any major rock artists who seem to have a more laissez faire attitude toward bootlegging than Iggy Pop; his catalog is riddled with semi-authorized live albums from various mysterious labels (mostly based in Europe and the United Kingdom) that document literally dozens of live shows from various points of his career (and in various degrees of fidelity). Only the most obsessive Iggy fan is capable of keeping track of all these semi-legit (or wholly non-legit) releases, and in recent years Iggy himself has taken it upon himself to try making sense of this aspect of his recorded legacy; he's authorized a pair of box sets from Easy Action Records, Where the Faces Shine, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2, which collect some of the better live recordings that have surfaced over the years, and now Shout! Factory has issued Roadkill Rising - The Bootleg Collection: 1977-2009, a four-disc set gathering highlights from 21 different shows, starting with the 1977 tour in support of his solo debut, The Idiot, and concluding with five numbers from a French radio concert promoting Preliminaires. There's long been a real need for a well-curated set that would separate the wheat from the chaff in Iggy's glut of live albums, but Roadkill Rising falls short of the ideal anthology. While most of the performances here are quite good and the fidelity is always at least adequate, Roadkill Rising seems to have been stitched together with little rhyme or reason. The material is arranged chronologically, but beyond that, one set of tunes stumbles into another without making sense of their different sonic and musical characteristics as Iggy's backing bands (none of whom are credited) and musical approaches shift from concert to concert throughout this set, leaving Roadkill Rising in dire need of some sense of focus. (It also doesn't help that often Iggy will start introducing one song only to begin singing something else when the splice from one gig to another occurs.) And while there's a desperate and confessional air to some of the early shows on disc one and the combination of Stooges reunion gigs and the jazz-influenced Preliminaires material makes disc four exciting, what's in the middle often feels like a slog through the more inconsistent eras of Iggy's career. Few artists of Iggy Pop's stature are in greater need of a box set that would put the ups and downs of their body of work into proper perspective, and Roadkill Rising suggests that his live recordings could use one all their own -- one that handles this often remarkable music with greater care and attention than it receives here.
Mark Deming, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Iggy Pop Intro
  2. Raw Power
  3. 1969
  4. Funtime
  5. I Need Somebody
  6. Search and Destroy
  7. Turn Blue
  8. Gimme Danger
  9. Tonight
  10. Fall in Love with Me
  11. Gloria
  12. Rock Action
  13. Knocking 'Em Down in the City
  14. New Values
  15. Play It Safe
  16. Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell
  17. You Really Got Me
  18. Nightclubbing
  19. Puppet World
  20. One for My Baby (And One More for the Road)
  21. Take Care of Me
  22. Batman Theme
  23. Hang on Sloopy
  24. I Wanna Be Your Dog
  25. Loose
  26. Real Wild Child
  27. Sister Midnight
  28. Blah Blah Blah
  29. Winners and Losers
  30. Shades
  31. Some Weird Sin
  32. Kill City
  33. High on You
  34. Lust for Life
  35. China Girl
  36. Butt Town
  37. Home
  38. TV Eye
  39. The Passenger
  40. Louie Louie
  41. Rip It Up
  42. Candy
  43. Five Foot One
  44. Caesar
  45. In the Death Car
  46. Fucking Alone
  47. Hate
  48. No Fun
  49. Corruption
  50. Howl
  51. The Jerk
  52. Lost
  53. Drink New Blood
  54. Dirt
  55. Dirt #2
  56. Down on the Street
  57. Real Cool Time
  58. Funhouse
  59. My Idea of Fun
  60. Not Right
  61. Skull Ring
  62. Les Feuilles Mortes
  63. King of the Dogs
  64. Spanish Coast
  65. Willow Weep for Me
  66. Shotgun