Album Details

June 28, 2011
Hux Records
Country, Traditional Country, Honky Tonk

Album Review

This reissue from Hux Records features a pair of LPs by country singer Kitty Wells, Country Hit Parade and Winner of Your Heart, both originally issued in 1956. Highlights among the 24 tracks include "Right or Wrong," "Back Street Affair," and the hit "It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels." Casual listeners should keep an eye open for God's Honky Tonk Angel: The First Queen of Country Music on Edsel before delving into these recordings.
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Making Believe
  2. Release Me
  3. Cheating's a Sin
  4. There's Poison in Your Heart
  5. I've Kissed You My Last Time
  6. Whose Shoulder Will You Cry On
  7. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels
  8. Things I Might Have Been
  9. Back Street Affair
  10. I Don't Claim to Be an Angel
  11. I'm Too Lonely to Smile
  12. Searching for a Soldier's Grave
  13. Each Day
  14. Dancing with a Stranger
  15. Mansion on the Hill
  16. Change of Heart
  17. Standing Room Only
  18. I Guess I'll Go on Dreaming
  19. Winner of Your Heart
  20. The Pace That Kills
  21. Stubborn Heart
  22. Right or Wrong
  23. Broken Marriage Vow
  24. She's No Angel