Album Details

November 12, 1996
Death Row
Rap, Gangsta Rap, G-Funk, West Coast Rap

Album Review

A lot happened to Snoop Doggy Dogg between his debut, Doggystyle, and his second album, Tha Doggfather. During those three years, he became the most notorious figure in hip-hop through a much-publicized murder trial, where he was found not guilty, and he also became a father. Musically, the most important thing to happen to Snoop was the parting of ways between his mentor Dr. Dre and his record label, Death Row. Dre's departure from Death Row meant that Snoop had to handle the production duties on Tha Doggfather himself, and the differences between the two records are immediately apparent. Though it works the same G-funk territory, the bass is less elastic and there is considerably less sonic detail. In essence, all of the music on Tha Doggfather reworks the funk and soul of the late '70s and early '80s, without updating it too much -- there's not that much difference between "Snoop's Upside Ya Head" and "Oops Up Side Your Head," for instance. Though the music isn't original, and the lyrics break no new territory, the execution is strong -- Snoop's rapping and rhyming continue to improve, while the bass-heavy funk is often intoxicating. At over 70 minutes, Tha Doggfather runs too long to not have several filler tracks, but if you ignore those cuts, the album is a fine follow-up to one of the most successful hip-hop albums in history.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. Doggfather
  3. Ride 4 Me
  4. Up Jump Tha Boogie
  5. Freestyle Conversation
  6. When I Grow Up
  7. Snoop Bounce
  8. Gold Rush
  9. (Tear 'Em Off) Me & My Doggz
  10. You Thought
  11. Vapors
  12. Groupie
  13. 2001
  14. Sixx Minutes
  15. (O.J.) Wake Up
  16. Snoop's Upside Ya Head
  17. Blueberry
  18. Traffic Jam
  19. Doggyland
  20. Downtown Assassins
  21. Outro
purchase full album