Album Details

RELEASE
April 15, 1997
LABEL
Black Top
GENRES
Blues, Texas Blues, Modern Electric Texas Blues, Regional Blues, Modern Electric Blues, Electric Texas Blues

Album Review

The blues-oriented team of Anson Funderburgh and Sam Myers is a powerful and appealing combination. While Myers takes shouting, easy-to-understand and accessible vocals on most of the selections of this release (in addition to playing a bit of harmonica), the main reason to acquire the set is for Funderburgh's exciting guitar work. His showcase on the instrumental blues "Mudslide" is a definite high point. In addition, Kevin McKendree (who is best on organ) is a strong asset to the rhythm section and takes many fine solos of his own. Although each of the 13 selections on the Alligator disc is concise (clocking in between 2:18 and 4:47 with only two songs being over four minutes), the performances are quite complete and do not exit prematurely (nor overstay their welcome). The well-paced set is easily recommended to blues collectors and jazz fans who enjoy hearing a passionate and skilled guitarist.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Looking the World Overhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thats-what-they-want/id204192780?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Oh-Ohhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/oh-oh/id204192780?i=204192822&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. The Last Time Aroundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-last-time-around/id204192780?i=204192886&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Monkey Aroundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/monkey-around/id204192780?i=204193099&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. That's What They Wanthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thats-what-they-want/id204192780?i=204193226&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. The Dew Is Fallinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-dew-is-falling/id204192780?i=204193377&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Mudslidehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mudslide/id204192780?i=204193524&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. I Don't Playhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-dont-play/id204192780?i=204193620&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. I Don't Want You Cutting off Your Hairhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-dont-want-you-cutting-off-your/id204192780?i=204193771&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Don't Quit the One You Love for Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thats-what-they-want/id204192780?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. I've Been Dogged by Womenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ive-been-dogged-by-women/id204192780?i=204194202&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. The Meanest Womanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-meanest-woman/id204192780?i=204194490&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. I'm Shakin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/im-shakin/id204192780?i=204194755&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album