Album Details

August 19, 1997
Pop/Rock, Soul, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Disco, Soft Rock, Club/Dance, Funk, Hard Rock, AM Pop

Album Review

Continuing their tradition of recycling songs they have already licensed for multi-volume series into new compilations, Rhino assembled VH1 8-track Flashback: One-Hit Wonders as a soundtrack to the VH1 show of the same name. Covering everything from soft rock to disco, there are a number of guilty pleasures and timeless kitsch pieces on this disc ("In the Summertime," "Brandy (You're a Fine Girl), " "Afternoon Delight, " "Rock and Roll, Pt. 2," " "Ring My Bell, " "Rock On"), yet it's hard to justify the collection when you consider that nearly every song appears on another Rhino collection. The label has spent almost no money on the disc -- the packaging isn't visually attractive and there are no liner notes -- and the sampling of hits is random. With a little more effort, duplicated tracks would have been excusable, but this collection just looks like a cash-in. Listeners looking for one or two of these songs might be satisfied with VH1 8-track Flashback: One-Hit Wonders, since it contains the original versions in good audio, but anyone who owns any of Rhino's '70s collections, especially Have a Nice Day and Disco Years, will find that this repeats too many songs to make it worthwhile.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Play That Funky Music
  2. Venus
  3. Seasons in the Sun
  4. Afternoon Delight
  5. Precious and Few
  6. Put Your Hand in the Hand
  7. Rock Your Baby
  8. In the Summertime
  9. Brandy (You're a Fine Girl)
  10. Turn the Beat Around
  11. Knock on Wood
  12. Rock & Roll, Pt. 2
  13. Ring My Bell
  14. I Love the Nightlife (Disco 'Round)
  15. Don't Leave Me This Way
  16. Rock On