Album Details

Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock

Album Review

J.J. Cale's debut album, Naturally, was recorded after Eric Clapton made "After Midnight" a huge success. Instead of following Slowhand's cue and constructing a slick blues-rock album, Cale recruited a number of his Oklahoma friends and made a laid-back country-rock record that firmly established his distinctive, relaxed style. Cale included a new version of "After Midnight" on the album, but the true meat of the record lay in songs like "Crazy Mama," which became a hit single, and "Call Me the Breeze," which Lynyrd Skynyrd later covered. On these songs and many others on Naturally, Cale effortlessly captured a lazy, rolling boogie that contradicted all the commercial styles of boogie, blues, and country-rock at the time. Where his contemporaries concentrated on solos, Cale worked the song and its rhythm, and the result was a pleasant, engaging album that was in no danger of raising anybody's temperature.
Thom Owens, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Call Me the Breeze
  2. Call the Doctor
  3. Don't Go to Strangers
  4. Woman I Have
  5. Magnolia
  6. Clyde
  7. Crazy Mama
  8. Nowhere to Run
  9. After Midnight
  10. River Runs Deep
  11. Bring It Back
  12. Crying Eyes
purchase full album