Album Details

Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary, Soft Rock

Album Review

Two years after scoring hits with "Fame" and "Out Here on My Own" (from the movie Fame), Cara finally released her debut album. Boasting strong R&B repertoire, reputable backing musicians, and solid production, the set nevertheless failed to garner further commercial success for the singer. It's a wonder how her emotive, driving rendition of the Four Tops' classic, "Reach out (I'll Be There)," and the titletrack, a dynamic power ballad co-penned by Cara with the venerable Bruce Roberts, didn't catapult her to a new level of stardom. Her distinctive combination of subtlety and strength on these and other cuts is something of a cross between the raspy tones of Bonnie Tyler and the sensitivity of Deniece Williams. Furthermore, "Slow Down" demonstrates her potential as an R&B songwriter. A solid listen throughout, Anyone Can See is Cara in her prime.
Justin M. Kantor, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Reach Out (I'll Be There)
  2. My Baby (He's Something Else)
  3. Anyone Can See
  4. Don't Throw Your Love Away
  5. Slow Down
  6. Whad'ya Want
  7. You Hurt Me Once
  8. Thunder in My Heart
  9. Why
  10. True Love
purchase full album