Album Details

Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, Instrumental Rock, New Orleans R&B

Album Review

New Orleans' favorite tenor sax player had a modest hit with the title track, a bouncy instrumental tailor-made for his honkin' style. The resulting album issued on the Ember label and a stray 45 are collected up here, a loose batch of blues, rockers, smoky jazz ballads, and jumpers. All of these are assigned quaint malt-shop titles like "Teen Dream," "Hot Rod Special," "Boppin' at the Hop," and "Bee Hive." But corny titles aside, here's some classic New Orleans blowing in a variety of settings, all of which work, making for a solid sax album that's grade-A listening all the way.
Cub Koda, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Promenade
  2. Walkin' with Mr. Lee
  3. Tic Toc
  4. Bee Hive
  5. Chuggin'
  6. Big Horn Special
  7. Jim Jam
  8. Strollin with Mr. Lee
  9. Teen Dream
  10. Boppin' at the Hop
  11. Lee's Blues
  12. Hot Rod Special
purchase full album