Album Details

August 04, 1998
No Limit Records
Rap, Gangsta Rap, Dirty South, G-Funk, West Coast Rap

Album Review

As the Death Row ship was sinking, Snoop Dogg bailed, heading over to the new bastion of street cred, No Limit Records. Master P is a master marketer, and he knows how to reshape everyone on his roster into good No Limit soldiers. And that's precisely what Snoop Dogg is on Da Game Is to Be Sold, Not to Be Told, his third album proper and first for No Limit. There are a few concessions to G-funk scattered throughout the record, primarily in the form of squealing synthesizers, but by and large, Beats by the Pound and P give Snoop a set of standard No Limit backing tracks and have him do the No Limit dance. But there's one crucial difference: unlike most of Master P's grunts, Snoop has style, miles and miles of style. His loose, languid delivery is positively enthralling.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Snoop World
  2. Slow Down
  3. Woof!
  4. Gin & Juice II
  5. Show Me Love
  6. Hustle & Ball
  7. Don't Let Go
  8. Tru Tank Dogs
  9. Whatcha Gon Do?
  10. Still a G Thang
  11. 20 Dollars to My Name
  12. D.O.G.'s Get Lonely 2
  13. Ain't Nut'in Personal
  14. DP Gangsta
  15. Game of Life
  16. See Ya When I Get There
  17. Pay for P
  18. Picture This
  19. Doggz Gonna Get Ya
  20. Hoes, Money & Clout
  21. Get Bout It & Rowdy