Album Details

RELEASE
LABEL
Geffen
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Soft Rock, Adult Contemporary, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

The lady can rock. There is no question about that, and this album is one of several from her catalog that serve as a testament to that fact. Even the opening single, "If I Could Turn Back Time," has a crunchy texture to it, albeit in a poppy, '80s Starship sort of arrangement. Cher recruited some heavy-hitters for this release, including Steve Lukather (Toto), Desmond Child, and Andrew Gold. Not all of the album is hard-edged rockers -- witness the effective ballad "Just Like Jesse James" -- but all of it has an honesty and gritty edge that separates it from some of the more modern Cher material. When you hear the strength of the vocal performance here, it makes you wonder why the producers choose to tinker with her voice in the late '90s and early 2000s. She certainly doesn't need any help holding a tune. This one seems a bit dated in retrospect, with the sound certainly tied to pop/rock of the late '80s, but the performance and musical integrity, not to mention strong songwriting, really set the album apart as one of Cher's strongest.
Gary Hill, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. If I Could Turn Back Timehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-i-could-turn-back-time/id114266?i=114241&uo=5
  2. If I Could Turn Back Timehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  3. Just Like Jesse Jameshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  4. Just Like Jesse Jameshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/just-like-jesse-james/id114266?i=114243&uo=5
  5. You Wouldn't Know Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-wouldnt-know-love/id114266?i=114245&uo=5
  6. You Wouldn't Know Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  7. Heart of Stonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?i=114247&uo=5
  8. Heart of Stonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  9. Still in Love With Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/still-in-love-with-you/id114266?i=114249&uo=5
  10. Still in Love With Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  11. Love on a Rooftophttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  12. Love on a Rooftophttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-on-a-rooftop/id114266?i=114251&uo=5
  13. Emotional Firehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/emotional-fire/id114266?i=114253&uo=5
  14. Emotional Firehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  15. All Because of Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  16. All Because of Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/all-because-of-you/id114266?i=114255&uo=5
  17. Does Anybody Really Fall in Love Anymore?http://itunes.apple.com/album/does-anybody-really-fall-in/id114266?i=114257&uo=5
  18. Does Anybody Really Fall in Love Anymore?http://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  19. Starting Overhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  20. Starting Overhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/starting-over/id114266?i=114259&uo=5
  21. Kiss to Kisshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/kiss-to-kiss/id114266?i=114261&uo=5
  22. Kiss to Kisshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
  23. After All [Love Theme from Chances Are]http://itunes.apple.com/album/after-all-love-theme-from/id114266?i=114263&uo=5
  24. After All (With Peter Cetera, "Chances Are" Love Theme) [Love Theme frohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/heart-of-stone/id114266?uo=5
purchase full album