Album Details

Pop/Rock, Soft Rock, Adult Contemporary, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

The lady can rock. There is no question about that, and this album is one of several from her catalog that serve as a testament to that fact. Even the opening single, "If I Could Turn Back Time," has a crunchy texture to it, albeit in a poppy, '80s Starship sort of arrangement. Cher recruited some heavy-hitters for this release, including Steve Lukather (Toto), Desmond Child, and Andrew Gold. Not all of the album is hard-edged rockers -- witness the effective ballad "Just Like Jesse James" -- but all of it has an honesty and gritty edge that separates it from some of the more modern Cher material. When you hear the strength of the vocal performance here, it makes you wonder why the producers choose to tinker with her voice in the late '90s and early 2000s. She certainly doesn't need any help holding a tune. This one seems a bit dated in retrospect, with the sound certainly tied to pop/rock of the late '80s, but the performance and musical integrity, not to mention strong songwriting, really set the album apart as one of Cher's strongest.
Gary Hill, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. If I Could Turn Back Time
  2. If I Could Turn Back Time
  3. Just Like Jesse James
  4. Just Like Jesse James
  5. You Wouldn't Know Love
  6. You Wouldn't Know Love
  7. Heart of Stone
  8. Heart of Stone
  9. Still in Love With You
  10. Still in Love With You
  11. Love on a Rooftop
  12. Love on a Rooftop
  13. Emotional Fire
  14. Emotional Fire
  15. All Because of You
  16. All Because of You
  17. Does Anybody Really Fall in Love Anymore?
  18. Does Anybody Really Fall in Love Anymore?
  19. Starting Over
  20. Starting Over
  21. Kiss to Kiss
  22. Kiss to Kiss
  23. After All [Love Theme from Chances Are]
  24. After All (With Peter Cetera, "Chances Are" Love Theme) [Love Theme fro
purchase full album