Album Details

Sony Music Distribution
Country, Contemporary Christian, Country-Pop, Gospel, CCM, Country Gospel

Album Review

This is a budget collection of Connie Smith's hits (many of them minor) recorded between 1973-1976. While it's true her RCA deal had ended at the time, she nonetheless secured a contract and continued recording for Epic. She scored some country chart hits such as George Richey's "You've Got Me (Right Where You Want Me)," and Dallas Frazier's "Ain't Love a Good Thing," carrying the countrypolitan style as far as it would go. The difference though is in the grain of Smith's voice. It could be said, that regardless of the material, she never made a bad record; the tunes were carefully chosen it's true, but she never tried to hide the hardcore twang in her vocal style. She brought a touch of something approaching rockabilly into her interpretations that made them unmistakably country, and if pop fit the bill afterwards, so be it. Evidence is in the latter track mentioned, and also the shuffling boogie read of Hank Williams' "Why Don't You Love Me Like You Used to Do," and Sanger Shafer's "I've Got My Baby on My Mind." There is also a pair of tunes written by Don Everly in "('Til) I Kissed You," and "So Sad (To Watch Good Love Go Bad)." The RCA Country Legends series compilation covers more ground, but you'd also need this one to make it complete. Recommended.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. You've Got Me (Right Where You Want Me)
  2. Ain't Love a Good Thing
  3. I Never Knew (What That Song Meant Before)
  4. I've Got My Baby on My Mind
  5. I Got a Lot of Hurtin' Done Today
  6. Why Don't You Love Me (Like You Used to Do)?
  7. The Song We Fell in Love To
  8. ('Til) I Kissed You
  9. So Sad (To Watch Good Love Go Bad)
  10. I Don't Wanna Talk It Over Anymore