Album Details

July 29, 2003
Music Mill
Country, Bluegrass

Album Review

Mac Wiseman began his career singing mountain bluegrass, where his easy-sounding tenor took the edge off the keening vocal tendencies of the genre and eventually led to his huge hit "The Ballad of Davey Crockett" in the late '50s. Wiseman increasingly turned to pop country material after that, returning to his natural bluegrass roots in the mid-'70s, bringing his amazingly accessible voice back into the fold. Nothing on this collection is innovative or edgy -- that isn't Wiseman's forte -- but it is good, solid, comfortable bluegrass, particularly his super-charged version of the traditional fiddle tune "Footprints in the Snow." Not that Wiseman doesn't remember his way around a good pop tune, though, as the two-step "The Scene of a Crime" makes clear.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Footprints in the Snow
  2. Just Outside
  3. What's Gonna Happen to Me
  4. Pistol Packin' Preacher
  5. Wildfire
  6. I Like Good Bluegrass Music
  7. Your Best Friend and Me
  8. When the Moon Comes Over the Mountain
  9. 'Tis Sweet to Be Remembered
  10. The Scene of the Crime
  11. What a Waste of Good Corn Likker [#]