Album Details

April 04, 2006
Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Heavy Metal

Album Review

By now, longtime Ritchie Blackmore fans have come to realize that the renaissance-influenced Blackmore's Night is certainly not a mere detour for the former Deep Purple/Rainbow guitarist. This truly seems to be Blackmore's musical calling of the 21st century, as he and singer Candice Night have issued their sixth album in almost as many years with 2006's The Village Lanterne. Blackmore's Night is often looked at as a throwback to a time long ago, but The Village Lanterne will not be mistaken for authentic renaissance music any time soon, as songs such as the album-opening "25 Years" mix together sounds both new and old. And although it's undoubtedly Blackmore and his affiliation with his two aforementioned previous bands that will attract most fans to the project, there's no getting around the fact that Night does posses a fine voice, especially evidenced by the title track. Also included are two remakes of Blackmore chestnuts: Deep Purple's "Child in Time" (which is paired with the uptempo ditty "Mond Tanz") and Rainbow's "Street of Dreams." The Village Lanterne is arguably the most modern-sounding release yet from Blackmore's Night. [This edition contains bonus tracks.]
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. 25 Years
  2. Village Lanterne
  3. I Guess It Doesn't Matter Anymore
  4. The Messenger [Instrumental]
  5. World of Stone
  6. Faerie Queen-Faerie Dance
  7. St. Teresa
  8. Village Dance [Instrumental]
  9. Mond Tanz/Child in Time
  10. Streets of London
  11. Just Call My Name (I'll Be There)
  12. Olde Mill Inn
  13. Windmills
  14. Street of Dreams
  15. Call It Love
  16. Street of Dreams
  17. All Because of You [Radio Edit]