Album Details

June 27, 2006
Stampede Records
Country, Traditional Country, Honky Tonk, Nashville Sound/Countrypolitan, Country Boogie

Album Review

U.K. label Stampede's Country Treasure Series, Vol. 1 collects 34 tracks from country legend Johnny Horton' s early years, 26 of which have never been released. The collection focuses primarily on Horton's honky tonk material, not on the historical narratives like "Battle of New Orleans," "North to Alaska," and "Sink the Bismarck" that brought him fame later in his career. Of the songs here, two of them ("Go and Wash Those Dirty Feet" and "I'll Fill a Drunkard's Grave") include alternate takes, making this anthology a sharp one for collectors, but not a sufficient entry point for newbies. Horton novices would be better off with Columbia/Legacy's excellent Honky Tonk Man: The Essential Johnny Horton 1956-1960.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Bawlin' Baby
  2. Honky Tonk Jelly Roll Blues
  3. Give Me Back My Picture
  4. Devilish Lovelight
  5. I'll Fill a Drunkard's Grave [No. 1][Take]
  6. Go and Wash Those Dirty Feet [No. 1][Take]
  7. Egg Money
  8. It's a Long Rocky Road
  9. Banks of the Beautiful Nile
  10. In My Home in Shelby County
  11. Talk, Gobbler, Talk
  12. Confusion
  13. First Train Headin' South
  14. Go and Wash Those Dirty Feet [No. 2][Take]
  15. I'm a Fishin' Man
  16. I'll Fill a Drunkard's Grave [No. 2][Take]
  17. Blue Eyes You Turned Me Blue
  18. Aggravating Love
  19. My Love Keeps Travelling On
  20. Is My Heart Just a Toy?
  21. It's All Wrong
  22. Send Me Your Love in a Letter
  23. Can't Get Rid of the Memory
  24. The Blue of Your Love Is Dying
  25. Faded Roses
  26. The Old Spanish Waltz
  27. Strange Affection
  28. Blues in the Blue of the Night
  29. Baby I'm Taking a Ride
  30. Rollin' On
  31. Somebody's Rockin' My Broken Heart
  32. The Way She Said I Love You
  33. Who Will You Cry to Then
  34. Broke